Crash of libvirtd by unprivileged user in virConnectListAllInterfaces CVE-2013-2218
authorDaniel P. Berrange <berrange@redhat.com>
Fri, 28 Jun 2013 12:21:33 +0000 (13:21 +0100)
committerDaniel Veillard <veillard@redhat.com>
Mon, 1 Jul 2013 07:05:24 +0000 (15:05 +0800)
commit244e0b8cf15ca2ef48d82058e728656e6c4bad11
tree1ff05f04463330cec0fafb2bf974ea347341c1e9
parent2c2525ab6a6f0ad5d75a6c60711e2e28cb1cebe9
Crash of libvirtd by unprivileged user in virConnectListAllInterfaces

On Thu, Jun 27, 2013 at 03:56:42PM +0100, Daniel P. Berrange wrote:
> Hi Security Team,
>
> I've discovered a way for an unprivileged user with a readonly connection
> to libvirtd, to crash the daemon.

Ok, the final patch for this is issue will be the simpler variant that
Eric suggested

The embargo can be considered to be lifted on Monday July 1st, at
0900 UTC

The following is the GIT change that DV or myself will apply to libvirt
GIT master immediately before the 1.1.0 release:

>From 177b4165c531a4b3ba7f6ab6aa41dca9ceb0b8cf Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: "Daniel P. Berrange" <berrange@redhat.com>
Date: Fri, 28 Jun 2013 10:48:37 +0100
Subject: [PATCH] CVE-2013-2218: Fix crash listing network interfaces with
 filters

The virConnectListAllInterfaces method has a double-free of the
'struct netcf_if' object when any of the filtering flags cause
an interface to be skipped over. For example when running the
command 'virsh iface-list --inactive'

This is a regression introduced in release 1.0.6 by

  commit 7ac2c4fe624f30f2c8270116513fa2ddab07631f
  Author: Guannan Ren <gren@redhat.com>
  Date:   Tue May 21 21:29:38 2013 +0800

    interface: list all interfaces with flags == 0

Signed-off-by: Daniel P. Berrange <berrange@redhat.com>
src/interface/interface_backend_netcf.c