Crash of libvirtd by unprivileged user in virConnectListAllInterfaces
authorDaniel P. Berrange <berrange@redhat.com>
Fri, 28 Jun 2013 12:21:33 +0000 (13:21 +0100)
committerDaniel P. Berrange <berrange@redhat.com>
Mon, 1 Jul 2013 10:48:41 +0000 (11:48 +0100)
commit67a2f4c6d8ce28b0efacbdf009eccc6c186ee6af
treef3f6d33cdf0a189d88f66317831d3e37dd32c12f
parent38edb034c6976dae556d6911c355126d71a0ab52
Crash of libvirtd by unprivileged user in virConnectListAllInterfaces

On Thu, Jun 27, 2013 at 03:56:42PM +0100, Daniel P. Berrange wrote:
> Hi Security Team,
>
> I've discovered a way for an unprivileged user with a readonly connection
> to libvirtd, to crash the daemon.

Ok, the final patch for this is issue will be the simpler variant that
Eric suggested

The embargo can be considered to be lifted on Monday July 1st, at
0900 UTC

The following is the GIT change that DV or myself will apply to libvirt
GIT master immediately before the 1.1.0 release:

>From 177b4165c531a4b3ba7f6ab6aa41dca9ceb0b8cf Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: "Daniel P. Berrange" <berrange@redhat.com>
Date: Fri, 28 Jun 2013 10:48:37 +0100
Subject: [PATCH] CVE-2013-2218: Fix crash listing network interfaces with
 filters

The virConnectListAllInterfaces method has a double-free of the
'struct netcf_if' object when any of the filtering flags cause
an interface to be skipped over. For example when running the
command 'virsh iface-list --inactive'

This is a regression introduced in release 1.0.6 by

  commit 7ac2c4fe624f30f2c8270116513fa2ddab07631f
  Author: Guannan Ren <gren@redhat.com>
  Date:   Tue May 21 21:29:38 2013 +0800

    interface: list all interfaces with flags == 0

Signed-off-by: Daniel P. Berrange <berrange@redhat.com>
(cherry picked from commit 244e0b8cf15ca2ef48d82058e728656e6c4bad11)
src/interface/interface_backend_netcf.c